latest entry

older entries

history

140 things

Email

disclaimer


Personal Information Shmeder, Female, 31-35. Lives in Denver, Colorado, United States, speaks English. Eye color is brown. Hair is brown.
Shmeder
Age: 31-35
Denver Colorado

Favorites

Rings
< ? Colorado Blogs # > ? dry heat! #
< ? ameriBLOGs # >

Who Links Here

01 March 2004 | 1:37 p.m.
Birthday present to self
Listening to: Tones on Tail
Mood: Rather pleased with myself

Woo Hoo! I'm gonna clean all the crap out of my house for my birthday! Is anyone interested in an extensive (and expensive) glow-in-the-dark collection? It's free. How about Nightmare Before Christmas? A good portion of the NBC stuff is being mailed to Mac. Whatever she wants, I know she will appreciate it.

It feels good to clean everything out. I'll be borrowing/and/or buying a digital camera to take pictures before I chuck it all.

You know you need a glow-in-the-dark skull ring mailed to you! Not a skull fan? What about a spider ring?

Pictures will be up soon...



29 February 2004 | 10:41 p.m.
Argue until they pee their pants
Listening to: Limehouse Outlaw

I suppose it's time to write again. I�ve been putting this off for a bit.

Religion and politics are the two subjects I refuse to talk about at a bar. This weekend was hard to avoid both subjects. I avoided politely and kept my mouth shut for once. I can be a little rude and heated when it comes to those two topics: the same reason why I avoid them. Yes, people were talking about Bush backing an amendment to make same sex marriages illegal. God, why does this man have to embarrass me all the time? He makes it hard for me to be proud to be an American. My mother may have backed off for the time being (I�m not giving up anything for lent) because she knows everyone is getting plenty of Catholicism thanks to Mel Gibson and his movie. My family is so conservative and I am the liberal black sheep. Oh well, they can argue until they pee their pants and I�m still not voting for Bush or getting my ass into church on Sunday.

I have a birthday coming up next week. I will be 29 every year until I turn 40. I haven�t decided what I want to do for myself for my birthday this year. Last year I lost 15 lbs and got my BMI into a reasonable range. This year? I might just go get something to eat with a few friends and call it done. It�s scary but I think I might be growing up! Eek!

I had more job interview stuff at the hospital last week. The HR process takes forever. Luckily, I will be able to work the shifts that I want to. I have enough trouble sleeping already so 7pm to 7am shifts are perfect for me.

My weekend recap:

Saturday night:

Dinner at Tamayo � fancy Mexican food place - a bit ridiculous if you ask me. 20 bucks for a salmon enchilada� darn good, but 20 bucks?

Bill Cosby at the Buell. He was fantastic. I needed a good laugh.

The rest of the weekend is not really worth mentioning



27 February 2004 | 7:16 a.m.
Another one bites the dust

Well, isn't this a special treat? I got up at the crack of ass today (5:45 am) because my cat wanted to play. Halloween (aka Hally) died a week ago today and Lurch (aka Chunk, soon to be Pugsley) is not adjusting as quickly as I�d like him to. Waking me up to play with his favorite toy (feathers on a stick) has got to stop or I will go insane. I should stop ranting, get my ass to the gym and try to be constructive for once.

I met up with a friend last night. I was given the news. She is taking the plunge, throwing away her party hat and fancy shows and getting hitched. I squealed when she told me. I�m incredibly happy for her�I cried in public (eek!). She deserves the best and he really is a great guy. Another bonus to this whole thing is I get to wear another bridesmaid dress! She has a ton of friends and I am incredibly honored that she asked me to be in the wedding.



26 February 2004 | 12:31 a.m.
Bizarre invite of the week

�It�s happy hour at Whole Foods on Friday after work. Wheatgrass is 2 for 1!� -Friend

�Honey, you don�t need two shots of wheatgrass it will kill ya.� -Shmeder

�It�s 2 for 1 so I can bring a friend. Are you interested?� -Friend

�No, I�d rather mow a lawn and eat the clippings. You have fun though.� -Shmeder



25 February 2004 | 10:27 p.m.
FatAss Tuesday
Listening to: The Rogers Sisters

Strange, something is amiss in Shmederland. I can�t figure it out yet but when I do, I guess I will fix it.

I am the red meat queen. I went out for Fat Tuesday and had a burger with friends last night and I had another one with other friends tonight. Happy times, good friends, good people, what more do I want? That�s right�I can�t handle this much red meat at once. My intestines are freaking. I will try to remedy the problem. Need fiber. I�ll go get a beer from the icebox that should help.

I got the call yesterday again. I get it every year. �Ash Wednesday is tomorrow. It�s a holy day of obligation. What are you giving up for lent?�

�Lent and church.�

Click�the phone goes dead.



23 February 2004 | 7:26 p.m.
It somehow went right...
Listening to: Patsy Cline
Mood: time heals everything that ails me

Everything went downhill as soon as I left the house on Saturday. I had my ditty bag in one hand and trash (for the dumpster) in the other. Then, my cell rings. I pick-up and start chatting. I walk over to the dumpster and throw in my trash and my keys. Next thing I know, I�m on my cell dumpster diving to get my keys.

Next stop... McDonald�s for inappropriate party food. I get to the counter and order 10 cheeseburgers and everyone gave me a look that says, �WTF?� While waiting, a man asks the shift manager to make some coffee for him. Then he starts to chat me up. Frederick introduces himself and invites me to the club he works at instead of going to the party. No chance Frederick. I have never thought of McDonald�s as a place to pick up guys. Then again, I haven�t been in one for years.

It turns out in almost any situation I am a good drunk. The �That�s Just Wrong� party was a rockin� good time. I got there and a friend had already cut lime wedges for me.

Let the shots begin... We are tequila snobs. I refuse to do any type of Cuervo tequila. For our money, we�ve decided that Sauza Hornitos is our best bet. If we had more money, we would be doing Don Julio or Patron but you�re just buying the name and not the tequila.

Let the martinis begin... Lately I�ve stopped my dirties and cosmos and picked up a fancy for chocolate martinis. Vodka, white cr�me de cacao, a Hershey�s kiss and it goes down easy.

Picture this... I have a martini in one hand and I�m eating beef jerky with the other. That�s just not right and the point of the entire evening.



23 February 2004 | 5:54 p.m.
Life... Death... Maggots...

I wasn't going to post today but this story got the best of me:

British doctors revive maggot treatment

I just don't know what to think about it yet. If I had decaying skin, would I put maggots on the infected area to make it heal faster? I will have to wait and see if it ever happens to me first...



last entry / next entry

Copyright 2002, 2003, 2004 shmeder.diaryland.com
Thank you Lex Designs and Diaryland!